Countries > UAE for Dentists > DHA
UAE for Dentists — Dubai Health Authority
DHA — General Dentist Licensing Exam (Dubai)
The Dubai Health Authority (DHA) licenses internationally trained general dentists through a computer-based testing (CBT) assessment delivered by Prometric. The exam is a single 150-MCQ paper. All applications are processed through the Sheryan portal, with DataFlow Primary Source Verification required before eligibility is granted.
Pathway Snapshot
The DHA General Dentist pathway is: Self-Assessment Tool → DataFlow PSV → CBT assessment → Registration Eligibility review → Professional Registration → Licence activation by a hiring facility. The exam is delivered at Prometric centres worldwide.
Complete Journey: Dental Graduation → DataFlow Verification → Sheryan Application → DHA General Dentist CBT → Professional Registration → Licence Activation → Practise in Dubai.
Eligibility
A recognised primary dental qualification (BDS/DMD/DDS or equivalent) from an accredited institution, plus a completed 12-month internship. For internationally trained non-UAE graduates, a minimum of 2 years of clinical experience after internship is required, supported by a valid professional licence covering the experience period and a recent Good Standing Certificate. If there is no documented evidence of internship completion, a total of 4 years of experience may be required.
There is currently no universal IELTS/OET score requirement identified for the DHA General Dentist CBT. All examinations are conducted in English.
DataFlow Verification
DHA requires Primary Source Verification (PSV) through DataFlow. Your dental degree, internship, professional experience, and licence/registration documents are verified directly with your issuing institutions. The DHA registration workflow explicitly requires submission of documents to the PSV agency and a verification result before registration can proceed.
DHA General Dentist CBT Details
Purpose: assesses clinical dental knowledge across general dentistry domains. The DHA CBT guideline lists specific subject areas but does not publish percentage weightings. Official DHA reference textbooks include Neville (Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology), Lindhe (Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry), McDonald and Avery’s Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, Sturdevant’s Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, Malamed (Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office and Handbook of Local Anesthesia), Pathways of the Pulp, and Oral and Maxillofacial Trauma.
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
|
Exam code |
GEN5301 |
|
Questions |
150 MCQs |
|
Format |
Single best answer |
|
Duration |
3 hours total (includes registration, process introduction, and exam content) |
|
Pass score |
60% |
|
Vendor |
Prometric |
|
Language |
English |
|
Result |
Pass/Fail only; scores are not disclosed |
|
Blueprint subject areas |
Endodontics, Implant Surgery, Restorative Dentistry, Orthodontics/Pediatric Dentistry, Cosmetic Dentistry, Deformities and Orthognathic Surgery, Patient Education, Ethics, Anesthesia and Pain Management, Oral Medicine/Oral Surgery, Periodontics, Temporomandibular Joint Disorders. Weightings not officially published. |
What we offer
Full DHA General Dentist question bank mapped to the official DHA subject areas, flashcards, self-assessments, trained AI companion, mentorship, a dental library, study groups, and more, all offered together.
Start DHA General Dentist CBT Prep →Retake Rules
There is no mandatory waiting period before reapplying after a failed attempt. However, the UAE-wide PQR limits candidates to 3 attempts to pass across all UAE health authorities, with a possible fourth and final attempt under specified conditions. Candidates must declare all previous attempts with other UAE authorities. Do not assume that each authority offers 3 independent attempts — the limit is shared.
How to Book Your Exam
Sheryan Self-Assessment → DataFlow PSV → DHA Eligibility → Prometric CBT. Complete the free Self-Assessment Tool on the Sheryan portal. Submit your documents for DataFlow Primary Source Verification. Once DHA confirms eligibility, book your CBT through Prometric at an approved test centre worldwide. Results are released as Pass/Fail; individual scores are not disclosed.
After the Exam
Passing the DHA CBT does not itself grant a licence. You must complete Registration Eligibility review, Professional Registration, and have your licence activated by a sponsoring hiring facility in Dubai.
Fees
Fees are set by DHA, DataFlow, and Prometric and are subject to periodic revision. The CBT fee of USD 280 is the published assessment fee only. A candidate’s total cost includes PSV, registration, eligibility review, and licence activation fees. Always confirm exact fees on the official Sheryan portal before payment.
All figures are approximate and based on 2026 public information. Always confirm exact fees on the official portals before payment.
| Item | Approx. Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
DHA General Dentist CBT |
USD 280 | Published 2026 DHA CBT guideline |
DHA Registration |
AED 200 | — |
DHA Review Registration Eligibility |
AED 200 | — |
DHA Oral Assessment (if required for your title) |
AED 500 | Only for titles requiring oral assessment |
DataFlow PSV |
Variable | Depends on number and type of documents |